top of page

RECENT POSTS

Winter Makeup


Winter is probably my favourite time of year for experimenting with makeup (Autumn comes in close second!!)

The tones and colours of winter makeup are so beautiful and I enjoy incoporating darker (and more glittery!) tones and colours into my makeup bag

So, (as always) but especially during this time of year when your skin has to face harsh and cold temperatures on a daily basis, it is important to prep your skin! At least once a week (sometimes twice during the winter!) I like to use a facemask in order to keep my skin feeling soft and fresh as it can easily become dry in the blustery weather. My favourite face mask of the moment is Origins Clear Improvement because I can literally feel the face mask working its magic on my face and when I take it off my face is left feeling SO soft and lovely! I LOVE using this face mask in the bath while I relax with some Youtube videos!

I tend to go with a natural face look during the winter and to prime I always start with The Body Shop's Insta Blur. This just ensures that my makeup will not slip and slide in the harsh weather and will stay put on my face all day long! For foundation I'm loving Rimmel's Match Perfection which I have in the shade True Ivory, because although some people enjoy a less pale look in the winter, I normally tend to embrace my pale-ness and just let it show!! Then I apply my Rimmel Wake Me Up Concealer to cover any dark under-eye circles. I 100% prefer this concealer during the winter as I feel like its not as heavy on my skin as some other concealers are - to keep with the natual look. Then, as always, I'll powder my face with Soap & Glory's One Heck Of A Blot which is one of my holy grail products all year round!

To accentuate my facial features and give my skin a much needed boost of glow I usually go with a light dusting of my Physicians Formula Bronze Booster in light to medium. Then on my cheeks, I tend to find that peachy pink colours are best suited during winter to give that 'I've just gone for a brisk walk in the snow' look! I'll either use Sleek's Blush By 3 Lace in the shade Guipure or my all time favourite Nars Orgasm (of course!) both are a gorgeous peachy pink with a slight golden shimmer to them, which I believe is PERFECT in the lead up to christmas and can bring back the healthy glow we unfortunately tend to lose in the winter time! Obviously I will also highlight my cheekbones, at the moment I am loving Boujois' Poudre de Riz de Java, althought it's supposed to be used as a face powder I love the subtle highlight it gives my cheekbones.

For eyes I LOVE going for a gold shimmer-y eyeshadow to bring a little sparkle to my eyes, I find that the Zoeva Cocoa Blend palette is PERFECT for this, particularly the shade pure Ganache. However, if you're looking for a slightly vampy-er look (that is GORGEOUS in winter!) Delicate Acidity is a lovely purple berry colour that compliments paler skin so so well! I always always top this off with a cat-eye flick and my favourite mascara of the moment Maybelline's Lash Sensational.

Lips are a personal favourite to experiment with during winter, as the shades and tones are so perfect! First of all, its SUPER important to moisturise your lips during the winter, as the blustery winds can really badly dry them out! I tend to stick with the classic vaseline as it works wonders on my dry lips! For lipstick any tone of red for the lips can look so festive during Christmastime, my all time favourite is Rimmel's Kate Moss 107 (Also, Zoellas personal favourite of course!) or if I'm feeling super vampy I'll go with Wet N Wild's Sugar Plum Fairy.

So there you have it! My perfect winter makeup looks! Let me know in the comments or on twitter @simplylifemy what your favourite makeup products are during this time of year!

Love, Jemma x

bottom of page